Just a Few Meters Away

Logan just hates contemporary port the bras. He has a problem with Bigonzetti’s port de bras, so imagine what he thought of Rearray, where William Forsythe asked Sylvie Guillem make your legs you arms and to Nicolas La Riche to make his arms his legs (yesterday night it was Massimo Murru). I’m always mocking Logan, just put up with it, otherwise next time I’ll ask you to come and see Swan Lake and you’ll have to deal with the four cygnets.
As for me, I liked Rearray. At first I wasn’t getting the story, but then I started to feel tiny jolts of adrenaline in my spine at each astonishingly perfect arabesque and clean soutenou, so I decided the story was about two etoiles who love ballet so much they start to deconstruct it, and of course this is exactly what contemporary ballet is to me, loving tradition and deconstructing it. I also liked the costumes, the two purple t-shirts looked so comfortable, I’d really love to wear them. David Morrow’s music was fine as well, and the idea of David Morrow being around because of Yes We Can’t in Reggio Emilia, where he performed live, was just lovely. Granted, the idea of 6000 Miles Away is that in arts you can feel close to someone even if you’re 6000 miles away, but you know, sometimes it’s nice to just be very close, like a few meters away, especially when theater is involved. Then I liked 27’552”, I liked Bye, which was interesting and very playful. In the end I also liked the way Sylvie Guillem bowed to the public, all happy and smiling.

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to go and see Yes We Can’t, I’m told the public didn’t appreciate it much, apparently is was too chaotic, which is a pity because it’s really about the impossibility of perfection.
Unnatural, demanding, often-painful, maddening ballet is supposed to appear effortless, so that the public can dream there’s beauty and hope in the world. But the truly appealing part, at least to me, it’s that it’s not effortless at all. It’s unnatural, demanding, often-painful and maddening, but when you put enough effort in it, at some point you hear a click, you feel a click, and you’ve learnt how to perform something that you though was just impossible for the (your) human body, and learnt how to make it appear effortless, and there’s magic in that, in the process I mean, in the revelation. That’s the whole point of applauding artists. They had a revelation, and they’re trying to share it with you.

