You Seer of Visions

The rock station I’m always listening to while I’m driving still broadcasts in mono. So I was quite surprised yesterday when I stopped at the red light and suddenly the music was in stereo. Of course it was because the guy in the car on my right was listening to the same station.

We were listening to the instrumental bit of Shine on You Crazy Diamonds, windows rolled down.

It was like some ad from the Nineties, where the girl stops at the red light and there he is, a gorgeous guy, and they both smile because they’ve bought the same kind of car which means they have the same taste in fact they’re listening to the same music in mono and together they can go stereo, and so can you dear person who’s watching the ad, see, lovely things can happen to you, provided that you buy the advertised kind of car.

Well it was like some ad from the Nineties except that the guy wasn’t gorgeous at all, also he was texting someone in a sour face, and it didn’t occur to me to notice on which kind of car he was on, because I was starving and could only think of getting home as soon as possible to wolf down some carbs (swimming season has stated and I’m always starving during swimming season).

Then the light turned green, I turned left, and finally Roger Water’s voice went

Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun

