This is How We Feel

If nostalgia is a way to explore and determine the boundaries of personal identity, to be able to say I was there, I remember it, that’s where I come from, that’s me, well, I have a box full of new-wave paraphernalia in the other room, including a Sandinista t-shirt, a Mandela Day bootleg and Morrissey lyrics with guitar tabs.

But I’m not feeling nostalgic right now. I’m feeling enraged. Because I’ve witnessed Thatcherism and Reagonomics and 20 years of Berlusconism with all their corrupted privatisations, the demolition of welfare state, the suppression of worker’s right, I’ve witnessed all this becoming the accepted mainstream and I bloody well know where the boundaries of my personal identity are.

Only personal identity is not enough. I want society back.

