Another Country

I think Cumberbatch is coming close to understanding fanfiction, he’s nearly there, he’s just missing a couple more pieces of the puzzle.

Perhaps, I suggest, making Holmes and Watson gay is a way to remove other women from the picture. “Yes, yes,” he replies enthusiastically. “I think it’s about burgeoning sexuality in adolescence, because you don’t necessarily know how to operate that. And I think it’s a way of neutralizing the threat, so this person is sort of removed from them as somebody who could break their heart.

When I was a teenager, Another Country used to be one of my favourite films. I would watch it over and over on a battered VHS I must still have somewhere. My favourite film still is Withnail & I, so as you can see it’s the bromance, British history and the Cold War. Many years have passed and now I hold a MA in cultural studies, I can ride a horse, I own a couple of good coats, once I tried punting, once I bumped into Rupert Everett in London, Colin Firth has become a superstar and fatally I work as a computational linguist.

So imagine my distress in waiting for The Imitation Game, which is a film that took so many risks except with the leading actor and me. Cumberbatch is perfectly capable of impersonating the best possible Turing and I am tremendously involved as a person on the other side of the fourth wall, given my resume.

Will it be love? Will it be a film I’ll be watching over and over now on more contemporary supports?

A lot of questions are still open. Will Turing be a complex counterpart to Guy Burgess? Will it be made clear that Turing does not need to be pardoned, but we as a cruel society and ignorant individuals need to grow up? And when will Cumberbatch understand that women write slash fanfiction because they are starved for relationships between equals (therefore no threat), where there is no markedness (again no threat), where social norms about gender are overturned (you see the point) and the normative marriage narrative is defused?

Anyway, I was reading an interview to Roger Allam the other day, who is currently is onstage at the Hampstead Theater with Seminar, and I discovered that he himself went to a public school where they still wear the same appalling uniform. I suspect First Officer Douglas Richardson went to the same place. They do accept girls, but they still wear cloaks and orange socks to keep away the plague. I wonder what pupils think of foreign politics, cultural studies and IT.

Christshospital

