Fifteen Days Out in South Wales – Surfing Rhossili Bay

I had always thought Rhossili Bay was in the list of the top ten beaches of the world just because they wanted a UK beach in it. I mean, I have seen a fairly good number of very fine spots, including JBay and Jaws.

Well I was plain wrong. Rhossili is magnificent and now I know why it was so easy to find a B&B in Llangennith with a sign reading surfers welcome on it. The place also offers paragliding, a surf shop, a campsite, two surf shacks, a pub, and a lovely 12th century church. I was there just before hurricane Bertha hit the coast so everyone was pretty nervous, but as soon as we realized Bertha was just going to bring in more waves, everyone enthusiastically stormed into the sea.

Such an amazing place. By the way, I’m not a good surfer, I’m a terrible surfer, but I stand up boldly and I am fearless. And I even started to think I actually look resonably good in those ugly, smelly, rented wetsuits.

Sea-Breeze-LLangennith

Sea Breeze, Llangennith, by Denise di Battista

Of course we also walked to Worms Head, which is a classic. We started our crossing in the pouring rain, struggling with the slippery rocks, but then slowly the sky cleared up and we were rewarded with an incredible view from the Head itself.

This is the Gower from Worms Head, at low tide, Rhossili Bay to the left.

worms

No, we did not end up trapped on the Head, which also is a classic, it even happened to Dylan Thomas as in “Who Do You Wish Was with Us?”, but then again, everything Welsh happened at least once to Dylan Thomas. We had a peaceful walk back in the sun instead, followed by nice local food.

Basic equipment on Worms Head: a bell to attract attention, a buoy for your safety and a tide timetable (next time read it before heading out). If you are trapped there’s nothing you can do except waiting for the next low tide, as the sea around the promontory is too dangerous for any help to reach you.

worms2

(more photos)

