A Child’s Christmas in Wales

2014 was the centenary of Dylan Thomas’ birth, so I treated myself to a Dylan Thomas tour.

I started in Swansea, with a little bit of themed pub crawling and a visit to the Dylan Thomas Center. Then I went to Mumbles and I toured the Gower. I walked to the Worms Head, but did not end up trapped by the tide (I was very careful). Of course I visited the boathouse in Laugharne, which was special, with the magnificent estuary, the silence, the rain and the sun and the curlews. I also went to St. Davids where they had the Sir Peter Blake Exhibition: Llaregubb at the Oriel y Parc Gallery. There I learnt how to pronounce Llaregubb from Richard Burton’s very own voice. Next stop was New Quay and finally the Dylan exhibition at the National Library of Wales, which is a bit intimidating because everyone there is so friendly and they will try to speak Welsh to you when you barely know how to pronounce Llaregubb.

At the end of the Dylan exhibition in Aberystwyth they had a typewriter connected to the web and you could type something to be tweeted to a dedicated account. It was fun to watch a bunch of teenagers who were too young both to be able to operate a typewriter and to understand that a tweet must not exceed 140 characters.

dylan

At the beginning of my journey in Swansea I bought a copy of the definitive edition of the indispensable Under Milk Wood as well as of my favourite from uni which happens to be Portrait. They came in the new covers inspired by the polka dots bow and kept me company for the whole journey.

dots

As for the cooking side of my Dylan Thomas obsession, I loved the cawl cennin and the laverbread, but I’m not really fond of the bara brith (sorry, no sweet tooth for me).

Coming home, digging in a drawer I found a ring with a polka dot bow on it and now I wear it as a Dylan Thomas detail no one will ever understand.

Guess what you should be listening to right now.

