Good Boy (Amazing Boy)

If you’re frequent flyers here you surely know about my ancient prophecies of a bright future for Yuzuru Hanyu and his fans. If you’re new here, this is the perfect time to appreciate my profound divination skills.

Behold! I told you Hanyu would change figure skating and last week end he did, simple as that.

Run, you fools! (to Barcelona)

Hanyu’s scores (here an excellent analysis) when he’s in good shape, ie not covered in blood after a collision or recovering from surgery or emerging from the ruins of a massive earthquake or forgetting about ISU rules entirely are so huge that it’s only Hanyu against himself. Boyang Jin can definitely jump, but he’s too young and raw for transitions and interpretation. The American guys are all lacking some jump here and there. Chan is outdated. Kovtun is not consistent. Shoma Uno is still evolving. Javier could be close, with an added quad in the SP, perfect performances and Hanyu popping a couple of jumps. Now the ISU will have to change the factorization of the scores for sure to face this embarrassing situation.

nhk

(credit)

Since I knew it all along, I already have a plane ticket for Barcelona next week, tickets for all competitions and training sessions, and two Winnie the Pooh (Tsum Tsum version). I just need to check-in online and practice my pitching style.

I could not watch the NHK Trophy live because I was working. I was checking the scores from time to time, so when I saw the SP scores I was puzzled. What was that? 106.33 is not a score. Was it the overall already? Well it was the SP score. So I thought he must have landed the two quads, one with a spread eagle, the other in combination, he must have jumped a huge 3A maybe with the signature entry I love so much. Speaking about kitsugi.

And what was 216.07, that’s not a score! And yet it was. So I knew the step sequences must have been terrific.

To be honest, after Lethbridge and Skate Canada I was a bit worried about the judges and the crowd not being able to understand Seimei. They were rather cold, in Canada as well as on the Italian tv and I could not see why. Ok, Skate Canada was Chan’s big rentrée so everyone was focused on that and Seimei was not skated clean but it was clearly something completely new, a staggering new way to construct and deliver a FS. Uncharted territories. How could they not see that? Well, Jackie Wong could actually, but still.

So I’m a bit surprised now suddenly everybody loves Seimei. It can’t be only for the stellar performance, it can’t be only because it was Japan, it can’t be only the two combined, I don’t understand. Am I the only one who was able to envision the potential of this FS from the very beginning, from last summer’s shows? I sincerely doubt it.

Oh well.

It’s not all about Yuzu, is it. I love Shoma Uno‘s new programs, I love Evgenia Medvedeva, I love Javi’s flamenco, I love Pitkeev (he looked so scared last year, now he’s a superstar). I’m happy for Cappellini La Notte, happy for Zhang Peng (but sorry for Sui Han who had to withdraw from the final due to injury). I even find Boyang Jin to be funny and a good egg.

I also dislike things. Why was Nam Nguyen left out of the Skate Canada gala? I agree Chan needed all the pampering he could get, but Nam is the reigning Canadian champion so I strongly disapprove the decision. By the way, why hasn’t Javi congratulated Yuzu on his three world records on social networks? Of course he doesn’t have to, but he’s always so warm and Team Orser is such a good place, so I miss it. And why has Miki Ando shared a Spanish article where Javi says he hasn’t even watched the NHK Trohy? Don’t get me wrong, I love Miki Ando. Only I find all this a little bit strange.

Anyway, Chopin and Seimei are breathtaking and a bliss to watch, and we will always have them. Try to spot me in the crowd in Barcelona.

