Shaka, When the Walls Fell

What I have learned about myself during my long career as a sports fan is that when my heroes are defeated I don’t care about the lost titles or prizes or records or whatever, I’m only worried they are going to feel sad.

I’m basically the Deanna Troi of sporting events.

Carolina being banned, Plushenko on the wrong level the Salt Lake podium, the hunched shoulders of Rafael Nadal leaving court after court last year, Iordan Iovtchev and Jury Chechi in Athens, you name it, Yuzuru Hanyu smiling faintly and chocking back regret last week in Boston.

Shaka, when the walls fell.

boston16

The men’s event in Boston was a utter mess. Chan complaining about ice quality (it was bad for everyone but his components score is based on his deep edges so he really can’t skate on a swimming pool – same thing happened in Barcelona), Nam Nguyen not even reaching the FP, a pale Shoma Uno, Yuzuru Hanyu two beats behind in the entire Seimei routine.

Not to mention the dreadful videos where Denis Ten clearly cuts off Hanyu during two distinct run-thought with Hanyu’s music on, god knows why, plus Ten’s suspiciously aggressive Instagram messages on the matter.

All the rest was amazing though. Fernandez, Medvedeva, Papadakis Cizeron, Duhamel Radford.

I sometimes wonder whether there are other people like me out there who are Star Trek geeks and figure skating geeks at the same time.

 

