Atemporality

Last Saturday, after seeing an exhibition of some superflat works by a Japanese artist, which felt effortlessly cool, I went home and watched a couple of old XFiles episodes, that caused me happy nostalgia as well as some unexpected anger towards Girls, because I am not able to relate to Girls at all so I feel a bad feminist, while relating to Dana Scully used to be (still is) so easy.

The next day I came across a short essay William Gibson wrote as a commentary to Douglas Coupland’s series Atemporality, in the catalogue that came with Coupland’s exhibition EVERYWHERE IS ANYWHERE IS ANYTHING IS EVERYTHING at the Vancouver Art Gallery in 2015 (unfortunately I missed the exhibition but I do own the catalogue), which in turn made me think of a speech Bruce Sterling gave in 2010 about atemporality.

Well, it was a long way for me to let go of postmodernism. At some point I even suspected I would never be able to leave postmodernism behind and accept and maybe even explore a new course of things. But now I’m starting to think that perhaps my pre-internet brain is not necessarily doomed (North American atemporality will never come natural to a European after all), while I do possess an internet brain, that can make itself useful.

coupland

Save

Save

Save

Save

