How I Liked Rogue One

It turns out I liked Rogue One a lot, but probably for the wrong reasons.

To someone of my age and background, The Force Awakens was emotionally very loaded, because we had to deal with the ageing and death of the Star Wars family, both in terms of characters and actors. At the same time it was frustrating, because the young characters were so clueless about their own universe. The only relatable fellow was Poe Dameron, who is missing in action for most of the film anyway.

In Rogue One though everyone is adult and basically unattached, which makes things funnier, cynically speaking. It’s a film we can watch without feeling guilty of being too young or too old to fit in.

Also it’s technically a fanfiction, based on the idea of filling the gaps of the canon narrative. I don’t want to say that it’s fan service, but to me it kind of was, because I happen to be a total geek when it comes Episode IV, the Death Star plans and Luke Skywalker’s first mission.

Show me a rebel pilot with an amber visor and I get goosebumps.

For years we’ve thought that the Death Star weakness was just a weak plot device, while now it’s the deliberate heroic choice complete with romantic quest.

Also I cannot resist a sarcastic android, especially when it looks like the Laputa robot soldier.

rogueone

